Clicker Training Question

M

MyHorseMyRules

I've never used clicker training before, but I have a clicker now and was considering using it to teach Raja. However, this may be a bit old-fashioned, but I never used treats when training dogs because I didn't want them to only do what they were supposed to do when I had a treat in my hand. So, that is what I'm worried about when it comes to clicker training. What are your opinions?

Zoom

Twin 2.0
This is why you work for solid grasps of the concepts, so you can fade out the treats. I clicker-train using treats but you sure don't see me walking around all the time with a handful of treats. That's just cumbersome. I usually have a pocketful of treats at the dog park, just because I'm still re-proofing an automatic recall and working with Sawyer on his retrieve.

My dogs get the bonus of having a great time learning new stuff, it seems to stick a bit quicker than the old way I used to use of just straight praise and I only pull out the treats when teaching a new command. Sometimes I'll grab them for a fun session where it's all stuff they already have down pat, it's just a great way for them to earn some yummies and get some more practice.

R

RedyreRottweilers

Search clicker training for a wealth of information. All dogs work for rewards, whether it is avoiding punishment, or getting praise, or food.

adojrts

When clicker training we don't have rewards/treats in our hands. The click marks the desired behaviour, then you get a reward and give it to the dog.
The dogs learn that the click means that a reward is to follow. But for clicker training to be successful, you start with a high rate of reinforcement (treats) but you add duration quickly and move to a variable reward system then we fade the clicker and the rewards.
When training with treats in your hand they become part of the cue, which makes success limited.
Check out www.clickertraining.com and www.clickersolutions.com