Spay during boarding. Is that mean?

So we have a family vacation planned for July, and Darby will be boarded for 10 days. I'm bummed about that but there's nothing to be done about it. The vacation (extended family vacation) has been in the works for over a year and Darby isn't welcome to come along.

She'll be boarded at our Vet Hospital. Since this is about the time she's due to be spayed, the vet suggested that it be done while she's boarded. She said it's pretty common for folks to do that.

What do you think? On one hand she'll be in the care of folks who (presumably) have a lot of experience and can care for her properly. On the other hand I hate the idea of dumping her off and leaving her during a stressful time. The vet made it sound like it wasn't that big of a deal, but I dunno, I'm new at this. For what it's worth, we've never had anything other than positive experiences with the people we've dealt with there.

What do you think?

Doberluv

I think it should be fine. She'll be right there should any complications arise (rare) and it will be easy to keep her quiet because they'll keep her in a cage of some sort. It may add to her stress a bit though. It depends too, on her personality....how easily stressed she tends to get with things like that. I assume, from the way you describe these vets, that she will be under good supervision.

It's too bad she wasn't allowed on the vacation but on the other hand, it will be easier. Hope you have a good time. And try not to worry.

Saje

Island dweller
She'll probably be fine but I dont think I'd want to do it. They feel so bad for the first day or so after a spay. I always want to be there so they have someone they love near. :( But, like Dober said, she'll be in good hands and get the care she needs! Leave a sweater or other clothes that smell like you when you go. That'll make her feel better.

Herschel