Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dogs - General Dog Chat

Old 05-12-2009, 08:35 PM
Active Pup

Default Anybody there with Dogue de Bordeau experience

Hi,
I have a 4 year old dogue de bordeau. And being a DDB he drools. Now i am not a newbie with dogs, lived with them whole of my life. So it is not that i get enouyed over a little stain on the furniture once in a while. But ... having to clean the ceiling weekly... (i am not exaggerating). I hand out cover-alls and towels, at the door, to friends and family who come to visit.
So question 1 : are all DDB that bad ? or did i just get unlucky in that area ?

(btw, i never "aimed for a DDB, went to a shelter one day, and saw a dog there, who for all other foster parents, was too big, had a big scarry face, and was very fierce, scared people away when they passed his cage, so i decided that was the one i would give a chance, not even knowing what race he was - turned out to be a true bread DDB who was neglected and beaten for 1,5 years).

In the mean time with a lot of patience, he became a lovely dog, sweat and trustful again, but still drooling as hell.

Now sorry for the long intro, but i heard they can have an operation to stop that. And i heard a lot of contradiction over it.
So if anybody can give me some more information about.. please plese..
If i would have it done, it would my life a lot easier, but only if i am sure that for him it would be..well like extracting a wisdom tooth, not agreeable, but not having any other effects on him or his health.
If i am not 100% convinced of that..i will not go for the operation, I will just live with his drooling and cleaning and the guests will just have to accept, his health and comfort comes before my comfort.
Daniell
Old 05-12-2009, 08:40 PM
Top Dog