Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog and Pet Fun > Photography

View Poll Results: d40 or d60
Nikon D40 3 30.00%
Nikon D60 5 50.00%
Other (please specify) 2 20.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Old 03-20-2009, 09:16 AM
Resident fainting goat

Default Nikon D60 VS D40! VOTE! and share your oppinions (and pictures :) )

PRO?
CONS?

which do you think would be best for me?

im a beginner in ever sense of the word, right now i just have a lil sony point and shoot. Im looking for a great camera that will take high quality pictures of people, my dogs. and other stuff.... just for fun

I need a camera that acomplishes that with a really fast picture taking speed! lol nothing annoys me more than waiting for a camera to take a picture! ughh my dogs move fast, my friends are hyper, im hyper, i need a camera that can keep up with them and not test my patience

ive gotten very mixed opinnions, some say the extra price isnt worth it, some swear by the D60 and some say that for my needs.. the D40 would serve me well

thanks for your help
Old 03-20-2009, 04:04 PM
Top Dog

I have the D40, and have been told there isn't much of a difference between the two. When I was looking at cameras last March before I bought mine, I couldn't see any real big differences between the two either, so I went with the best deal at the time (which was the D40). I think they're both pretty similar, except for the fact that the D60 is a newer model.

The only problem I have with my camera is that it's kind of slow when taking indoor pictures (with [internal] flash or without). That probably also has a lot to do with the fact that my house doesn't have very good light, and I only have the two kit lenses still (which I've been told are both slower lenses)... and no speedlight yet. In good lighting though, it's excellent and there's nothing else about the camera that I don't like.

Journey - Oracle Twist of Fate TreeStarr
Ripley
Dance - Tollwest's Dancing In Style CGN FM RN