Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dogs - General Dog Chat

Old 12-09-2008, 02:56 AM
Top Dog

Default Herding Question(s)

I was talking with a BC breeder last Friday and visiting with one of her litters and the discussion of herding came up (very briefly, but enough to raise curiosity).

I am no expert whatsoever and know very, very little on herding. But I was told by someone awhile back (we shall call her A) that if you are going to do herding to not practice the "focus" "look" etc command as you do not want the dog looking at you constantly while on sheep and to encourage them to look at you isn't done normally (lol, this is pretty much the first thing I teach my puppies, but I don't do herding).

So here's my first question: for those in herding and have been around the block so to speak, do you feel a dog can excel in both herding and agility? Is teaching the "look" command really as taboo as A made it out to sound?

Another question: how often do you feel a dog should be worked with sheep?

FYI, I did not get into a serious discussion with the breeder and these points weren't really raised.... and mods I wasn't sure if this belonged in general or training?
Old 12-09-2008, 04:39 AM
and Fozzie B!

Ok... this is just IMHO. I only do herding classes with Gonzo for fun, and I am by no means an expert!

However, I don't feel that Agility, Obedience, Conformation, etc training interferes at ALL with herding... in fact, it is great to have a dog who will listen to your commands/pay any attention to you while on stock. I think that a bigger obstacle for most people, unless their dog has no instinct or is very insecure around livestock, is to get their dog to listen to commands at all the first few times.