Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dog Food and Recipes

Old 08-12-2008, 09:12 PM
ME+DOGS=CRAZY

Question Veggies in a Raw Diet?

This person on another forum keeps arguing with me on this. She stated that dogs NEED veggies in their diet for 10-15% of wolves and wild dogs diet is veggies. I told her I disagree and that I don't feel that veggies are nessecery in a proper diet of RMB and occasional organ meat during the week. I'm not a mastermind on the subject, but I do think I know a bit from researching for so long.

I think the only thing that brings wolves and wild dogs to eat vegtable matter in the wild is lack of a prey source. Our pets of course wont be going through times where prey is scarse(sp?) so veggies don't really serve a purpose. But I'm still learning, so I might be wrong..

I'm just curious as to what you guys think, and why?
Old 08-12-2008, 09:28 PM
Your Mom

Frankly, I'm not sure. I CAN tell you that dogs can't break down the cell walls that are in fruits and vegetables. There are people out there who say that wild dogs/wolves don't eat the stomach and it's contents, and there are people who say that they do.

Because I can't decide one way or the other, I err on the side of caution and I feed vegetables. The veggies I feed have been broken down first, usually by liquefying them in a food processor when I make my own (though lately I've been using Bravo since I haven't had much time).

When I make my own I use about 10% veggies. Bravo blends use 20% I believe.

I just figure, it can't hurt!!

Oldham's Goddess of War CGC, PSA1, CL1-F "Teeny"
Connors' Baloo CGC, TT "Blue"
Old 08-12-2008, 09:35 PM
Your Mom

Something to think about, though: Eating Grass.