Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dog Food and Recipes

Old 07-15-2005, 12:30 PM
yuckaduck

Default what to feed?

I have a 4 month old german shepherd puppy who is eating Science Diet large breed puppy food right now. I thought this was good food until now but am very confused at what to feed. Adult or large breed puppy? What kind? It needs to be affordable [one income family] but I don't want him eating garbage. I thought maybe Kirkland Signature or Presidents Coice Nutrition 1st Any ideas on this Thanks
Old 07-15-2005, 12:57 PM
Top Dog

I have never heard of them but they don't seem that bad (finding the ingredients of Kirkland online is next to impossible though, but if what I saw is the right one I think Presidents choice would be better), but of course I'm no expert... I'm sure Mordy will be able to give you a better answer though.
Old 07-15-2005, 01:00 PM
yuckaduck

Thank you I am so confused because everyone has a different opinion and I just don't have the knowledge myself. Growing up the dogs were farm dogs and they got fed whatever was on sale at the time. My parents still feed ole roy and swear it is the best money can buy. Ok mom whatever you say?
Thanks again.
Old 07-15-2005, 03:43 PM
Top Dog

yucka...
You will find MANY opinions of food here and sometimes it can get heated. I grew up with goldens that had very long lifespans and they just ate Purina. (not that I'm feeding grocery store dog food today). However, that was before the "gourmet" foods of today. Some are on an all raw diet. Others are on very expensive foods that are hard to find. It's an ongoing debate and don't be offended if you get very strong opions you may not agree with!
Old 07-15-2005, 03:51 PM
yuckaduck

Smile