Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dog Food and Recipes

Old 05-15-2008, 04:34 PM
Monte

Red face Fruit and nuts for treats

Hi, I am new to Chazhounds and I love it already. I have 2 miniature Puddles with a bit of mix somewhere up the tree.
I have a couple of questions about dog treats. I give my dogs, Monte and
Kobe a piece of Banana and almonds now and then. Is this type of treat O.K.? I was wondering if their dry dog food would clean their teeth after eating almonds?
I also give them green peppers and carrots, but only in small pieces.
I mostly give them regular dog treats though.
Thanks for any guide lines. Lloyd from Wisconsin
Old 05-15-2008, 04:35 PM
Twin 2.0

Almonds are poisonous to dogs, so I would stop giving those immediately.

Bananas are fine though, as are the peppers and carrots.
Old 05-15-2008, 05:38 PM
Bored Now.

Oh, it's fine. I love to give Middie peanuts and stuff as treats... and candied pineapple.. it comes in trail mix and I hate it, so he gets it when we work on ignoring the kitty, because he would do ANYTHING for candied pineapple.
Old 05-15-2008, 06:44 PM
Monte

Default Thanks Zoom for the advice

Zoom thanks for the warning about Almonds; I never knew that.
I better give thanks for Chazhound. I may have never asked anyone
without this great forum.
Old 05-20-2008, 12:42 PM
Active Pup

You know we used to give grapes to our dog and found out that given in large quanities...I still give them to our new dog and they have never had a problem with just one or 3. I also give my dog carrots and she loves them. People food is ok, but you want to research it before so you know what is bad for them and what is not. If you are looking for more treats try looking at different websites and everything for different treats.
Old 05-20-2008, 08:57 PM
not so newby

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucy10 View Post