diarrhea...help!

My 9 month old lab mix has been very good about going outside since only a few weeks after we got her (March 2007). Today I came home from work and she had made a mess in her crate (poop and a little bit of vomit). I took her right outside and she had diarrhea. This was around 4:30pm. She had been home alone since 11am.
I took her out often all evening long, and she did not do anything but pee.
At 11pm, she walked into the kitchen and began to poop! Diarrhea again!

We haven't given her anything new to eat. The only things that I can think of are: I'm a teacher, so she may be stressed out about being left alone for longer periods of time lately. Also, yesterday I had our occassional dog sitter come out and walk her. She is very professional, but perhaps the dog ate something by mistake. I am waiting for the sitter to return my call.

I've been with-holding food and will start rice/chicken tomorrow morning. Any other advice? Do any of you use Pepto-Bismol?
I wish there was some sort of over the counter dog diarrhea medicine. I've taken her to the vet for diarrhea 4-5 times since we got her only to have them tell me that there is nothing wrong with her, give some pills, and charge $90!

Any advice will be much appreciated!

Elektra's mom

ToscasMom

Harumph™©®
You say you have had her to the vet four or five times for this, right? So something IS wrong. I'm sure smarter dog poeple than I am will come along to this thread, but I am curious as to what you are feeding her..

SizzleDog

Lord Cynical
There is an OTC dog diarrhea medicine... at least three actually. All of the ones I'll mention below have earned a permanent place in my medicine cabinet.

1. Canned Pumpkin - yep, the cheapo stuff at the grocery store, unsweetened and sugar-free. A tablespoon or two usually takes care of diarrhea.