Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dog Food and Recipes

Old 06-07-2007, 09:41 AM
Puppy Dog

Default Thinking of changing food...

Hello,
I have a 6 month old lab mix that I rescued from a shelter. This is my first time owning a dog, and at the shelter she was being given Purina Puppy chow. Now, I knew enough to recognize that this was cr*p, and the vet told us to use Eukanuba. This is what we have been feeding. I recently noticed that she is really blowing her coat. Thinking that maybe this was stress from her recent spay/having to stay inside more, I did some research and found that it could be that Eukanuba is a lower quality food. This was suprising, since the difference in price between Eukanuba and Puppy chow is so significant!

What would you say is the best food for a puppy? She was 38lbs at 5.5 months, if this helps.

Also, information about prices would be useful as well.

(I did a search on this board but couldn't find conclusive results.)

Thanks,
Elektrasmom
Old 06-07-2007, 09:51 AM
I run with scissors

I feed Canidae. I have found that it is the cheapest high quality food so it is a good balance between price and quality. I pay $24 for a 20lb bag, but others on here have remarked that they find it much cheaper. I guess it depends on where you are.

"The one best place to bury a good dog is in the heart of his master." -Ben Hur Lampman

I miss you every day, Charlie. You were my teacher, my playmate, and my best friend. Together, we did what we set out to do, and I am so proud of us for that.
Old 06-07-2007, 10:03 AM
Mom of Two

I'd like to know this too... I've never seen Canidae, Baxter (11 weeks, 3.5pounds) has been eating Iams Puppy... but I just read in another thread that this is crap... anything I can start making myself for the little guy or is it too early?

Baxter at 7 weeks
Old 06-07-2007, 10:12 AM
I run with scissors