Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dogs - General Dog Chat

Old 04-10-2005, 08:48 AM
Active Pup

Default Ideal Living Space for Dogs

Hello, my name is Richard and I am an architecture student currently doing a project on high rise living. I am trying to design an apprtment block that would be suitable for dog lovers and would love it if anyone could tell me what they think would be essential to make it work.

What would be in your ideal home as a dog lover?
What would make a home more dog friendly? Maybe how you would change your own home to better suit the dog.

Thanks. Richard
Old 04-10-2005, 02:54 PM
Big Mutts

Hey Rich, don't know if this might help but: My dad works at retirement home, they are allowed to have dogs, but have to put them in a kennel and wheel them outside (to prevent lawsuits if someone may get bit) would be extremely difficult for the older people to even have medium sized dog, I was thinking separate elevators for dog people. Ideally everyone could get outside without bumping in to others, maybe a big patio where they could have grass planted to do *business* Just some thoughts
Old 04-10-2005, 02:57 PM
Big Mutts

Oh and a slide out bin to put dogfood in like some of the trashcans are now (trashcan too, so dog couldn't get in it so easy) And maybe same thing to put crate in for storage Or sliding gates for when you're not at home
Old 04-10-2005, 03:13 PM
Felurian

That's an interesting project, Richard.

I'll definitely do some pondering . . .

Right offhand, I'd say one of the most important things would be to put soundproofing insulation between apartments.

A separate entrance/exit for use with dogs that passes through a mud room would be appreciated by all - especially the janitorial staff, and a dog washing facility would be a boon to all; not just the dog owners!