Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > The Dog Breeds

Old 08-28-2006, 02:52 AM
Active Pup

Default New dog loving member need help choosing a breed.

Hey its my first post here on chazhound but I have been reading from earlier on. I am 14 years old and I originate from Lithuania, but now I'm living in Granada Hills, CA. Which is a suburban/semi rural area.

In Lithuania we used to have a collie and it was my first pet, We left it there when moving to the United States. My other siblings live within 10 miles of us and often visit with there dogs, I sometimes take care the pups for a few days/weeks so I have some experience with dogs. I am a animal lover (mostly dog) and hope to one day become a veterinarian.

Me and my parents didn't get a dog for one reason or another, But now we decided to get one. There's only one problem, choosing a breed...

I need help choosing a breed, I did some research about dog breeds but now I wish to turn to the dog loving community for help. I want a dog that will be part of the family and also a friend. The dog will be mainly kept indoors. I don't plan to take the dog to competitions/dog shows and I want a dog that will get serious when told and will listen to my commands under excitement.

Wanted Traits:
  • Very active, even hyperactive.
  • Very play-full.
  • Very affectionate.
  • friendly towards other dogs.
  • friendly towards other people.
  • intelligence and/or ease of training.
  • Dominant/independent.
  • Loyal.

I researched quite a few dogs and the ones that I like are the

Wire Fox Terrier,
Border Collie,
Havanese,
Bichon Frise,
West Highland White Terrier, and the
Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever.

I could use some help here please.

Thanks in advance,
-Pytis
Old 08-28-2006, 12:36 PM
Top Dog

Quite a range of breeds !!! I'd substitute Golden Retriever for Tollers ...they can be a handful .

http://mauzysmusings.blogspot.com/