Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Puppy Forum

Old 03-19-2005, 05:55 PM
Puppy Dog

Default Is my dog the only one???

Hi

I have a 5 month old cavalier king charles and she HATES it when i try to lay her on her back to rub her belly.

If i pick her up and put her on her back her legs all go stiff and point up and her eyes look like she sow a ghost.

I thought dogs loved getting their belly rubbed???

(can i just ask if its normal for a dog not to eat when anyone is around???, when i leave her food she just leaves it unless i put it in her crate and shut the door, then when i return 2 mins later its gone).
Old 03-19-2005, 05:57 PM
Big Dog

im no expert but with tha research ive done b4 i got my dog those r signs of a sumbissive dog.. i think lol..
Old 03-19-2005, 09:44 PM
Felurian

That sounds like a puppy that doesn't feel secure and relaxed yet. Whatever you do, don't try to roll her over to rub her belly anymore. Try to avoid petting her directly on top of her head, too. Speak very softly to her, talk baby-talk even, and when you pet her, start with just a very gentle touch on the side of her shoulders. Let her lay in your lap, and lots of soft, gentle voices. Give her bites of food out of your hand. Let her learn that you are going to take care of her and love her; that will allow her to learn to trust you.

Are you working on basic things like 'sit' with her? That's a very good way to build her self confidence, as well as playing games with her.

Once she's more relaxed and self-confident you should see a great change in her. She should even start eating her food right away, too.

Stupid is the most notoriously incurable and contagious disease known to mankind. If you find yourself in close proximity to someone infected with stupid, walk away as soon as said infection is noted.

There are few things more nauseating than pure obedience. ~ Kvothe