Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Forum News > The Fire Hydrant

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 06:07 PM
AdrianneIsabel's Avatar
AdrianneIsabel AdrianneIsabel is offline
Glutton for Crazy
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 8,893

Cool thread!

I would like to be a teacher, highschool probably but college would be ideal.

If I have kids I suppose I will start within those five years.

I would like to be well traveled. Traveling never mattered much to me but its catching up.

I don't want to be working where I am by then, I enjoy my job but its not something I care to do long term. Otherwise I am content to float along.
Sloan von Krigbaum IPO1 CGC BH CD NA NJ PD MJ-N RATI RATN 3/7/10 -
Shamoo NJ-N RATI RATN 3/1/98 -
Phelan du Loups du Soleil CGC RATI 6/15/13 -
Chili Brigades Brover 5/23/14 -

Arnold CGC TDI FD 6/29/04 - 07/05/13
Backup CGC HIC CD SRD SJ-N RATI 12/29/09 - 07/05/13

You were amazing, we did amazing things.

Harmony Canine, relationship based training.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:11 PM
Paige's Avatar
Paige Paige is offline
Let it be
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,359

Finished and established in my career of choice.
Getting pregnant with #3 if in a stable relationship.
Riding all the time! God I miss it.

ANd thats it. The rest is all just fine print. I just want to be self sufficient and happy.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:39 PM
milos_mommy's Avatar
milos_mommy milos_mommy is offline
Top Dog
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 15,326

I love these threads!

Honestly - I have NO idea. 5 years seems crazy far away to me, and 5 years ago my life was drastically different. (I'll be about to turn 28 in 5 years).

Finished with undergrad,
living on my own - I'd say in NYC, but honestly there are other places I'd be happy,
with a thriving child.

That's really all I've got. Optimistically, I'd like to have finished my master's degree by then, but not sure that's realistic. So I'll say either have/be working towards my master's degree OR have a career that I really like/can make a living on.

I'd like to be moving towards owning some sort of home, either an apartment or house at that time, but not sure how realistic that is.
I'd also like to be looking into giving my child a sibling, but more than likely fostering or adoption.

Another very viable option would be owning a business by then - some kind of music/arts venue, either a club type venue, coffeehouse type deal, etc. But I'm not sure how realistic that is, either - there are other businesses I'd be interested in as well.

I guess I'll go with "In five years I'd like to figure out what heck I want to be doing in 10 years and be on the way to making it happen."
"My favorite color is green, green like newly cut grass. When it comes to green with envy, though, you can stick it up your @ss!" ~ Grammy
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:47 PM
LostAndConfused's Avatar
LostAndConfused LostAndConfused is offline
Top Dog
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hudson Valley
Posts: 3,549

5 years......I'll be 32....

Making serious plans to move back to OH.
Have a different job, one i actually like
Puppy #2???

BUt yeah, aside from the living so far from family bit, things are really good right now

Male Lacy Game Dog
June 2003 - Feb. 2012

Male black & white English Shepherd
August 27th 2012

Blog -
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:50 PM
Greenmagick's Avatar
Greenmagick Greenmagick is offline
Top Dog
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,199

5 years -

I will have a 12 year old and a 10 year may be drastically different as (maturity levels depending lol) they would possibly be old enough for me to leave for short periods of time to run errands and the like. Yes, that will be a huge change!

Otherwise....either still here but with most of our projects in the house done OR on some land starting a farm

I am not looking to really change much...animals will look a bit different I am sure (Marley and the cats will likely not be around for 5 years and heck, even the danes who knows)
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:59 PM
Maxy24's Avatar
Maxy24 Maxy24 is offline
Top Dog
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,039

I should be done with my undergrad (one more year WOOT!).
I want to have a career that I love
I want to have a dog of my own

Right now I'm freaking out about picking a career. The plan to be a vet is a no go, so now I'm lost and panicked, it's causing me constant stress. I can't think of anything that pays a decent wage that I want to do.

Thank you ~Dixie's Mom~ for my awesome siggy!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:09 PM
mrose_s's Avatar
mrose_s mrose_s is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: QLD, Australia
Posts: 12,169

In 5 years I'll be 28. I'm just starting my career now and I'm hoping it goes as well as I'm thinking it will.

So in 5 years...

- I would like to make a decent amount of money working full time as a trainer.
- I want to have either bought a house or have it in the pipeline
- Have atleast 1 more dog. Be trialling in aglity with atleast 1 of them.
- Have a full set of agility equipment of my own and the room to set it up at home
- If I do have kids I'd probably want it in the next 5 years but its not really a priority.
- To not be married

Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:16 PM
Dogdragoness's Avatar
Dogdragoness Dogdragoness is offline
Happy New Year!
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gillett/Flower Mound TX
Posts: 4,138

Originally Posted by Paige View Post
Finished and established in my career of choice.
Getting pregnant with #3 if in a stable relationship.
Riding all the time! God I miss it.

ANd thats it. The rest is all just fine print. I just want to be self sufficient and happy.
I want to be a horse trainer (officially) with a well established stable of my own, also I hope to have the farm fixed up to be a training center by then.

I also want to own a cane corso & / or a dogo argentino.

Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:17 PM
meepitsmeagan's Avatar
meepitsmeagan meepitsmeagan is offline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southwest Michigan
Posts: 3,370

In five years I will have just turned 26...

I would like to be well on my way to finishing, or have finished, a degree in something... most likely related to Environmental Sciences, though it would be super amazing and awesome if it was in Rangeland Management.

Own a house, which we may achieve next year. Preferably with enough acreage to self-sustain, but that may be a little further down the road.

Have some cows? I would love a horse again and to be somewhat of an accomplished sorter/cutter/roper.

Get more involved in herding with the ACD's.

To meet some financial goals and be in a career I enjoy.

Also, to continue to have a healthy and happy marriage and all of that sappy stuff.

Iggy 2007 Chesapeake Bay Retriever :: Harlow 2010 Boxer ::
Rider 2012 ACD/BCx :: Tulsa 2014 ACD
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:17 PM
Shai's Avatar
Shai Shai is offline
& the Muttly Crew
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,216

I'm a bit older than just about all of you :P, but in five years I hope to...

-Be doing the job I am doing now, or some extension of it. I love my field and have great coworkers, and get to do good work.

-Either have our place set up better for us or have sold it and purchased/built some place better suited for us.

-Have successfully raised the Mirapuppies and have them all thriving in excellent homes.

-Still be happily married to my hubby, and I hope that he will have also found a job position where he can thrive.

-Still be learning about and loving agility, and burning it up with my happy, healthy, eager pups

ARCHX U-CD Kim MX MXJ NF CL3-SF RL3/2X/1X-COE CGC -- Golden Ditzhund, b. ~Mar'07
MACH ARCHX U-CD Webster MXB MJB RL3/2X/1X-COE CGC -- Flying Houdini, b. ~Jun'07
MACH Mira CDX JH MXS MJS CGC WCX -- Princess Cheeseface, b. Jul'09
Lodin NA NAJ -- Crazy Monkeybean, b. Dec'13
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.

1997-2013 Chazhound Dog Site