Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dog Training Forum

Old 02-09-2005, 05:08 PM
Active Pup

Default dog breeding

didn't know where to post this, is if its moved then ok.

anyway my mom has a min. Dachshund and her friend has one that she wants to breed. now this is my first time with this sort of thing.

what is the best way for us to do this? her house? his house? put them in a cage when we leave? any suggestions is helpful thanks.
Old 02-09-2005, 05:36 PM
Playful Husky Pup

First off responsible breeding is extremly expensive. Intensive health testing on both parties should be done unless they are both perfect breeding should not take place. They must also not only have wonderful health records but also have the temporments you want to pass on to other dogs. Do you know each dogs history? Who was their sire and dam? That info also plays a key factor in wether you breed or not. Its not as important as the other two things but it helps. I pay $400 and up during this entire process (this is why I don't breed my dogs often).
Ok so say both dogs are perfect canidates for breeding. The breeding pair should be watched at all times never left alone because a female dog in heat is like a ticking time bomb and there have been instances of females attacking and killing males when in heat. It really doesent matter which house the breeding takes place. The cage depends on size if your talking a large pen then ok but other then that i would'nt advise it. I breed my dogs in the laundry room where theres plenty of room but still inclosed. Ok good deal now their bred now its a question on wether you want to know for sure if your ***** is pregnant or be surprised. If you want to know you can have your dog blood tested or sonogramed (also costs money).