Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dogs - General Dog Chat

Old 01-12-2013, 04:51 PM
Top Dog

Default Those who have experience with mother dogs and puppies.... *rant/vent*

Is it okay to separate the mother dog from her puppies for long periods of time? Like, for an entire 13 hours? I have no experience with mothers and litters of puppies, but my first instinct says no.

I have a relative who has just recently started fostering a mother dog (a Dalmatian/Hound mix) and her newborn litter of puppies, and while the puppies are being lavished on, she's not being very nice to the mother. She keeps throwing her into the basement at night, while the puppies sleep upstairs, due to her having house breaking issues (my guess is she's just really stressed and nervous).

There's more to it then this of course, and I'll elaborate more later, but that just doesn't settle well with me. Am I over reacting?

"Ma'ii is always out there, waiting. And Ma'ii is always hungry." - Navajo proverb
Old 01-12-2013, 04:55 PM
The Littlest Hound

If they're really small they eat every few hours (at least!) so yea keeping her away that long is BAD...

The Plotts:
UKC GRCH 'PR' Hannas Creek Liz
CCH 'PR' Jebb's Bayou Rage CA

And the "off-colored" hounds:
Daisy Duke Garrett CGC, RA & my <3 dog (basset)

Very Missed:
UKC GRCH CCH 'PR' Skyplott Teddy Bearhug
UKC CH CCH 'PR' Hannas Creek Irresistible You
'PR' Dead River K-N-A Swagger - the BAD puppy!
(and Autumn, the feist.)
Old 01-12-2013, 05:02 PM
Top Dog

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlottMom View Post
If they're really small they eat every few hours (at least!) so yea keeping her away that long is BAD...

I THINK she's been feeding the puppies herself by formula, but...what about the mother? Isn't that bad for her mental health? She barks and whines, and goes NUTS down there...

"Ma'ii is always out there, waiting. And Ma'ii is always hungry." - Navajo proverb