Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Puppy Forum

Old 01-10-2006, 07:35 AM
Puppy Dog

Arrow Need help with fetch command

Hello all, I'll be starting my boys on the fetch command soon and wanted to know how you guys do this. When they go get the object you've tossed and they bring it back, how do you get the dog to drop it? I had one dog in the past that wouldn't drop the object and when I tried to get it he thought I was playing and it turned into a tug of war game for him. Not sure how to proceed......
Old 01-10-2006, 08:29 AM
Puppy Dog

Hi

I am no expert as I am only just teaching my GSP to fetch.

So when the dog brings the toy, I say drop and she'll drop it --> To do this, I had a treat in my hand. When she see the treat, and drops the ball I say drop. In the end she learned the word drop.

Not sure if that's the correct way.

I have issues with the dog bringing me items which I will post later in another thread.

James
Old 01-10-2006, 09:11 AM
Top Dog

Definitely teach 'drop it'. On a side note, I've never got my golden to drop the thing either, I just go the other way and usually he drops it then.
Old 01-10-2006, 09:13 AM
Are You Blowing Me Off?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayna 3
Hello all, I'll be starting my boys on the fetch command soon and wanted to know how you guys do this. When they go get the object you've tossed and they bring it back, how do you get the dog to drop it? I had one dog in the past that wouldn't drop the object and when I tried to get it he thought I was playing and it turned into a tug of war game for him. Not sure how to proceed......