Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Forum News > The Fire Hydrant

Old 05-31-2012, 09:48 PM
I'm All Ears

Default Do you use your major in your job?

A coworker and I were talking about school today and modern kids and the 'go to college and get a degree!' mentality. He's about the age to be my grandfather and is just a really great guy that I go to for a lot of information and guidance. He's been working in the industry since well before I was born.

There is no degree for the job I do so people come in with all sorts of backgrounds. Most have some sort of a science, geography, graphics, computer, or math degree.

But I was curious how many of you actually use your degree in your career? I have a mathematics degree and I do use math sometimes on the job but nothing like I learned like advanced calculus or linear algebra. I use my computer programming classes much more. the most important skill I got from the math degree that goes to my work is Excel skills since I do a lot with spreadsheets now. I sometimes wonder why I spent all that time learning advanced mathematics if I'm never going to use any equations past basic geometry and statistics. Then again, I probably wouldn't have gotten this job without the math degree os I guess it paid off there.

But I find learning on the job SO much more fun and so much better since it's actually applicable. I love picking all the veteran peoples' brains and they put up with me really well. I've learned more in 1 year on the job than I did in 4 years of college, I feel. (Yet another thread of just my random musings)
Old 05-31-2012, 09:58 PM
& the Muttly Crew

Mixture for me. I use some aspects of my degree and the rest is learned as I go. In my last job I used other aspects of my degree...the two jobs are barely related...kind of the extreme ends of what folks with my type of degree do if still staying within the field if that makes sense.