Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Forum News > The Fire Hydrant

Old 02-29-2012, 12:36 PM
Top Dog

Default Freaking out about my future

I've always wanted to be a vet, that was the plan, still sort of is. I'm in my second year of undergrad and I'm coming to the realization that I'm really not going to get into vet school. I only have a 3.2 GPA and I don't have amazing extracurricular activities to fall back on, I'm just in some clubs and I volunteer at animals shelters. Not being a vet wouldn't be awful, it's not like I'm absolutely crushed about it, what is causing me to panic is that I can't think of anything else I want to do, or nothing with which I'll be able to support myself financially. No I don't need to be rich but I don't want to be struggling either. Then again I don't really know what constitutes "good pay" either.

I need ideas, advice, something...I need to figure out what I'm going to do after college. My mom keeps asking me what am I going to do if vet school doesn't work out? I need to have something. I don't want to go get random jobs for years on end until I just stick with something, I want a career. But I think about the jobs I know of and nothing interests me at all. I thought maybe I'd work at a zoo, but they make very poor money (or so the internet tells me). I don't want to just do research. I like educating others, but I DO NOT want to be a school teacher, I like to teach people who actually seem interested in what I'm saying. I love teaching others about pets for instance, at least people who seem interested in what I'm saying. When I bring in my various animals to the elementary school for an after-school club my mother runs, and the kids ask me all sorts of questions about them, I LOVE IT. However I have to be knowledgeable and passionate about what I'm teaching and right now that's animals. Other than that I don't know what else I like.