Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > The Breeding Ground

Old 06-10-2011, 02:48 PM
Happy Meal. Yum.

Default Breeder help (border collies)

I need help. I'm looking for a border collie breeder. I have decided against a rescue on this one, but it's my first time trying to find a breeder! I won't be getting a puppy for months (earliest possible being March 2012), but I want to start looking for a breeder now! I would prefer working or sport dogs rather than show.

Of course I've fallen head over heels for Hob Nob Border collies, but who hasn't? LOL That ones probably going to be out of my reach for now. I'd die if I could get there upcoming litter or Shale and Bru *drool*

But I'm having a lot of difficulty finding a breeder I like, that has dogs I like. @_@

I'd appreciate opinions and hlep! I'm in Western Wa, but will likely be in Eastern Wa at the time. I'm willing to travel a little bit to get a pup, but if possible I'd prefer not. Anyways, so only ones I've found that are even semi likeable are as follows.

First one is midnight border collies:
Midnight Border Collies

Vaccinated, CERF, OFA tested, and ABCA registered. I've got a few problems with them. Health guarantee for only one year, when questioned they stated "they are 3rd generation, if there were any problems we would have seen them by now." Seems a bit of a ignorant answer, IMO. Also it's agains "life threatening hereditary or life threatening genetic defects until one year of age" and they emphasize "life threatening." Which leads me to believe a problem that is genetic, but not deemed life threatening would be ignored. They train in Obedience, Herding and agility but do not do any actual competitions. Few other problems I have with them, so I think they are a no go.

Second one is White Road Border Collies:
White Road Border Collies | PUPPIES FOR SALE! | Shelton, Washington