Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > The Dog Breeds

Old 05-14-2011, 04:03 PM
Active Pup

Default Looking for a breed. Suggest one?

Hello everyone. I have come here in search of a purebred dog breed for myself. This is my first time in searching for a dog, so I don't know what to look for, or much about breeds.

I just lost both my dogs in 09'. I grew up with these dogs as my parents got them when I was 2 years old from a neighbor who was moving and didn't want them anymore. They were Toy Poodle x Shih Tzu mixes named Tulip & Miles. They were both 14 when they passed away, they were from the same litter and bought at a pet store by our old neighbors. They lived good long lives, but both needed our help in passing over due to medical problems and pain.

I find myself ready for a new dog. I would like a purebred dog this time though. Though, I don't even know where to start with so many! So I hope those here may help!

I would like to have a go at a larger breed dog. One who may be more interested in doing things then my two little ones had been. When I took Tulip & Miles on hikes or walks, they were slow and not interested and wanted to just stop and lay, but I would like a dog who would be making me have to keep up, haha. One that likes to go for long hikes and walks and bike rides. I plan to do agility with my new dog, as I've always wanted to, but again - Tulip & Miles weren't interested, so I didn't get a chance to unless my friend or family would let me borrow their dog for a day! Grooming & hair length isn't a problem...I don't want a smooth coat exactly, but one with some fluff to it! I would really like a loyal dog, who would (hopefully) enjoy my company. One who is willing to learn, and somewhat easy to train...also would like it to be a dog who enjoys learning things!