Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dogs - General Dog Chat

Old 11-10-2010, 12:19 AM
Resident fainting goat

Default Raising from puppyhood..

I was just wondering..

I'm one of those people that has NEVER had/raised puppies. Always adult already trained dogs.

at first,I wanted my next dog to be a puppy just because its something I've never done before and puppies are so cute!

and then I started thinking about it and I'm not sure.. I don't like messes.. potty training seems like a real bitch.. I don't really know how to train a puppy, and the idea of a puppy chewing on my personal belongings makes me cringe. and oh my god potty training.

Oh and next time around I'm doing the rescue route. so getting a puppy would really be a coin toss because id probably be getting a mixed dog and I have pretty specific ideas about what I want for size/temperament.

Anywhoo..

For those who have raised puppies to adulthood..

Do you think its worth it?
Would you have it any other way?
why/why not?
Pros/Cons

Do you think its something everyone should experience? '

Do you think training/socialization from puppyhood always creates a steady sound well behaved dog?

Disclaimer: I work for Trupanion and love it/our policy! But I do not speak for the company or as the company.
Old 11-10-2010, 12:29 AM
Behavior Nerd