Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog and Pet Fun > Agility and Dog Sports

Old 06-01-2009, 08:38 PM
FluffyZooCrew

Default Starting Rally -- Video and Many Questions

So I've decided that I'd like to start working with Bo so that I can trial him in Rally. I'm getting ready to apply for his AKC ILP number. Meanwhile, I want to work and train with him to prepare him.

Keep in mind that I am EXTREMELY new to this, and have no idea what I am doing. So be gentle and keep that in mind when giving advice. And of course, constructive criticism is greatly appreciated, which is the point of the video, LOL.

First, this was the first time I've recorded me and Bo doing our heel and sit. He wasn't perfect (he screwed up during his 'stay' and got confused), and I'm sure tons of mistakes were made. So I'd like you guys to watch the video, and tell me what I am doing right, wrong, what needs to be improved, what else I need to do, and what I do not need to do.

I also have questions when doing a rally trial:

Does the heel have to be loose-leash?

Can you use command out loud such as "Heel", "Sit" and "Good boy".

Are treats allowed when the dog does a sit?

I'm sure there's other questions I'll have, but that'll get us started.

Here's the video:

YouTube - Bo Heeling and Sitting
Old 06-01-2009, 08:50 PM
Sprayin' the spiders

Fluffy, you really need to go to a trial and watch, that will really help.

Heeling is done on the left side. When Bo sits, he should still be in heel position, sitting straight.

Loose leash. You're allowed to talk, but no food allowed. You're going to be doing whatever the sign tells you to do, so you really, really need to study those as well. Ideally, you should have a trainer or someone experienced show you what each sign looks like with a dog and other small details.

If you would like to do AKC, you'll need to read up on the rules and other formalities.

He looks like he's enjoying himself in the video