Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Forum News > The Fire Hydrant


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:49 PM
Laurelin's Avatar
Laurelin Laurelin is offline
I'm All Ears
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 28,992
Default A cheap Window's computer

So I have a Macbook and it works great for most things. However, at work my computer is Windows and I am getting more and more used to it. I find I get home and the mac frustrates me a lot. There is also a lot of trouble when I try to remote log in to the company's website and my work computer due to nothing being written with macs in mind.

I still want to keep the macbook for basic internet surfing. I think I want a new laptop though to use to do work stuff and I want something that can run Corel Draw. I've tried a lot of art programs and Corel is my favorite for outlining things in. I use it at work all the time and have borrowed my coworker's Corel some to play with. But I can't run it on my computer. I don't know how to decide how much computer you would need for a program like that. As of now, that would be all I'd be using the computer for.

I just don't have that much money to throw out there for a good computer, plus the money for Corel. How much do laptops usually run now? Is there a laptop that is powerful enough to run a graphics program like Corel that is not very expensive?
__________________
Mia CGC
Summer TG2 TBAD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:58 PM
stardogs stardogs is offline
Behavior Nerd
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 4,434
Default

What about getting a program that allows you to run Windows on your Mac?
__________________
Erin, Ziva, Kestrel, Aerten, and Snipe
Always in our hearts: The Amazing Maggie Mae


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2012, 01:09 PM
Laurelin's Avatar
Laurelin Laurelin is offline
I'm All Ears
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 28,992
Default

I didn't even think about that at all. I was wondering though if it would be even more expensive to do that? How much does it cost? Plus I have mac specific software I don't want to lose (Adobe Creative Suite)
__________________
Mia CGC
Summer TG2 TBAD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2012, 01:19 PM
MinPinOwner's Avatar
MinPinOwner MinPinOwner is offline
Top Dog
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northeast
Posts: 487
Default

There is Boot Camp but you still need to buy a copy of windows.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boot_Camp_%28software%29
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2012, 01:21 PM
stardogs stardogs is offline
Behavior Nerd
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 4,434
Default

IIRC there are several options for software that lets you maintain a Windows platform on a Mac - the cheapest is around $75, most expensive around $200 iirc. The platforms run separately so you won't lose anything on the Mac, just switch back and forth between the two setups on the same computer.
__________________
Erin, Ziva, Kestrel, Aerten, and Snipe
Always in our hearts: The Amazing Maggie Mae


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2012, 05:07 PM
Bahamutt99's Avatar
Bahamutt99 Bahamutt99 is offline
Dafuq?
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: High Ridge, MO
Posts: 2,365
Default

I don't know about running windows on a Mac, but I bought a computer off Ebay for about $90 with the shipping included. Its what I'm using right now. Came with (albeit an older version of) Windows installed and ready to use. I added a second TB hard drive and a RAM upgrade, parts which cost me probably about $100. (The HD was off my old computer, the RAM upgrade I bought off Amazon for $30). Well worth the $$$ so far, after Best Buy denied me financing to get a new computer.

ETA: I realize I'm talking about a desktop and you referred to laptops, but its what I've got. LOL
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Lindsay
& the Gravity Dogs


Now entering the land of hypnotic signatures...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2012, 05:48 PM
eddieq's Avatar
eddieq eddieq is offline
Silence! I ban you!
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 8,622
Default

Run a VM. VMWare Fusion is 50 bucks.

http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/overview.html
__________________
When things don't go your way, stop and think, "Problem, or inconvenience?" - with apologies to Robert Fulghum
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2012, 10:48 AM
Kat09Tails's Avatar
Kat09Tails Kat09Tails is offline
*Now with Snark*
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Upper Left hand corner, USA
Posts: 3,335
Default

My next windows PC will be from costco most likely. I'm expecting to spend about $600-700
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2012, 11:16 AM
Renee750il's Avatar
Renee750il Renee750il is offline
Felurian
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Where the selas blooms
Posts: 94,266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieq View Post
Run a VM. VMWare Fusion is 50 bucks.

http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/overview.html
This is what my dad has on his Mac. Works better than the dedicated Windows computers, lol. WAY faster. The expensive Dell, as a matter of fact, is now dead, and I'm praying my files can be salvaged from the hard drive. It died suddenly, without warning.
__________________
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves. ~Buddha

Stupid is the most notoriously incurable and contagious disease known to mankind. If you find yourself in close proximity to someone infected with stupid, walk away as soon as said infection is noted.


There are few things more nauseating than pure obedience. ~ Kvothe

***8206;"silence is the language of god, all else is poor translation."
Rumi
Be a god. Know when to shut up.


Good Kharma Tags
Felurian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2012, 11:45 PM
Lossalfling's Avatar
Lossalfling Lossalfling is offline
Ferret Keeper
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 883
Default

If you run windows on Mac it will be great, Im not sure how much those programs cost(never owned a mac) If you decide to get a windows machine I can tell you one things. If you want to run some harsh graphics programs, make sure what ever laptop/desktop you buy has a graphics cards and not just an chipset. Though chips sets have come along way , they are still nowhere near to par of a good card. Lots of laptops will have cards versus chipsset. With a laptop its even more important to make sure its a card as you cannot add one later like you can with a desktop
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


1997-2013 Chazhound Dog Site