Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > The Dog Breeds

Old 04-14-2009, 02:23 PM
Big Dog

Default Talk to me about German Sheppards

Hi everyone,
I’m new to the site so I wanted to thank you in advance for your help.

I’ve come across an opportunity to adopt a German Sheppard from a loving family who is moving away and unfortunately can’t bring their dog with them.
They have told me she has a great temperament and is extremely well trained.

My issue is that I have no experience with this breed and when I started to read up on them a lot of books/articles caution against them because they can be aggressive. Could those of you with extensive Sheppard experience give me the “real story”?

What type of person makes a good match for a Sheppard, and are there any quirks or warnings I should know? Is the shedding really bad?
I grew up with midsized terrier types, so there is something about the “look” of the Sheppard that makes me nervous, although I am always open to new things as long as I feel that I have done my homework .
What are your thoughts? Thank you!
Old 04-14-2009, 02:26 PM
RedyreRottweilers

step one:

German ShepHERD dog. Often abbreviated GSD. Herding breeds that have shepHERD in the name are always spelled ShepHERD.

From your post if you do not know this dog personally, I would advise you to do more research and not make a hasty decision.

Often the way people who own the dog describe it can be misleading.
Old 04-14-2009, 02:31 PM
Resident fainting goat

Hi I have a german SHEPHERD lol i used to get the spelling wrong all the time 2

the shedding is REALLY bad. but if you brush him/her once a day and sweep around then its managable.

they need A LOT of exercise! a long walk every day, mine get one twice a day! if you dont walk them, they will drive you nuts! and find their own way to deal with their energy (digging, barking ect..)