Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dog Health Care

Old 06-23-2004, 02:07 PM
Active Pup

Default Help settle dog feeding dispute

We have 2 dogs, a Golden Retriever, and Jack Russel, dashund mix. My wife, who is a dog groomer by trade, and I share feeding responsibilities.
Recently we discovered that we are feeding the dogs different amounts of food.
We feed the dogs Purina Dog Chow which we dispense via a plastic 2 cup measuring cup. We feed them twice a day, morning and evening.
I give each dog, a full 2 cup, cup full of food, each feeding. My wife gives each dog 1/2 that amount and says I am over feeding.
Now I can see where the smaller dog might not need as much, but I think only 1 cup (1/2 of the 2 cup, cup we use) is not enough food for the larger dog.
In summary, Wife says each dog gets 1 cup of food per feeding, and I give 2. Who is right?
Old 06-23-2004, 04:12 PM
Alpha Dog

Well... if I were a dog I would want you to feed me all the time.
Especially if I were the bigger golden retreiver

Look on your dog food bag for instructions on how much to
feed each dog. It will instruct you to feed them by their weight.
So much for so many pounds. I would feed the bigger dog more
given everything else is the same.

Chazhound
Old 06-23-2004, 04:40 PM
aka RedHotBabe