Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dogs - General Dog Chat

Old 04-30-2005, 08:50 PM
mostly ignored...

Default opinions please

Okay, so my little bundle of fluff is now...well not quite so little, and is houstrained, and has learned all of the basics backwards and frontwards. He is a sweet baby who comes when called (mostly ) and is generally a happy guy. My questions though are these:
1. He's sort of a momma's boy, and I was wondering if it would be fun for him or just generally traumatic to get a second poochie to have fun with him.
2. if it isn't such a trauma, what sorts of SMALL breeds of dogs do you thing would do well backpacking, hiking, swimming, canoing etc? I know Sunny is smaller, but we're sort of looking at the fact that our boys can be a little intimidated by him sometimes and it will be an easier sell to my supervisor if it is a smaller dog.
I'm no novice dog owner but this would be the first time I would be attempting owning two at a time and I am a little nervous, mostly because as I said Sunny is definatly a mommas boy and gets more then a little sad and jealous when I pet or play with other dogs. He doesn't snap at them or anything just cries like his heart is breaking. I don't want to hurt him, in fact the idea popped up since I thought he could use a puppy friend, but I just don't know. I have read that aussies are particularly sensitive breeds when it comes to who they own. sigh. I would love a second pooch, and am very willing to adopt but I don't want to get someone so small that he squishes the first time he tries to play with them. Any good ideas? thanks guys.
Old 04-30-2005, 08:55 PM
pointer/labrador/terrier