Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Puppy Forum

Old 02-12-2007, 12:28 PM
Active Pup

Default change in eating habits..

I have 2 8 month old catahoula bulldogs who for the first 6 months of having them had an intense appetite, would eat their meals (3 times a day) in literally minutes... as of about a week ago their appetite has really subsided, not only do they not eat nearly as quickly, half the time they don't appear interested in eating their food at all... I called the vet to get his thoughts on this, he advised that it could just be a bad bag of dog food, so I bought a new one, same results...could this just be a phase of some sort?
Old 02-12-2007, 02:27 PM
Top Dog

May I ask what you are feeding? you may need to cut back the amount of food, by the way how much are you feeding them, or cut back to two meals just slightly larger. I'm no food expert though.
Old 02-12-2007, 02:31 PM
Active Pup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxy24 View Post
May I ask what you are feeding? you may need to cut back the amount of food, by the way how much are you feeding them, or cut back to two meals just slightly larger. I'm no food expert though.
they're 60-65 lbs or so each, been feeding them IAMS dry puppy food - 5-6 cups per day... 2 cups 3 times a day.... was thinking of maybe just feeding them twice a day.. it's just odd because up until about a week or so ago they had a crazy appetite, literally would eat each meal (2 cups or so) within like 5 minutes or less...
Old 02-12-2007, 07:43 PM
Owned by 2 Rough Collies

Wow, they were still eating 3 times a day?

I have 2 large breed dogs and feed twice daily.
Chloe is now 7 1/2 months and she's cutting down this week I've noticed.