Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dog Training Forum

Old 03-19-2014, 09:03 PM
<----Thanks Allie

Default How long did it take before your first agility competition?

I'm just wondering what the average amount of time it's taken people to train a dog to be able to Q in Novice level. I realize different dogs will take different amounts of time just based on how they learn... but I really just want a very general idea.
Old 03-19-2014, 09:04 PM
Sport Model Pug

About a year of training. I started training foundations with Izzie when she was 2 in august of 2010 and then her first trial was august of 2011. She Q'd her first run, a starters jumpers run.

Izzie the Wonderpug RA AGIS AGJIS MADC AGDC MSDC CGN

The Proudest Pug
Old 03-19-2014, 09:25 PM
It's A Red Dog Revolution

We started with puppy foundations when Kimma was about 6 months old. We didn't start competing until she was 2 years 10 months old. In between there was an 8 month hiatus while we worked heavily on recall and moved from TX to PA, so we therefore didn't really do much actual agility/equipment training. She got in to the Masters level in both Jumpers and Standard within a year and 3 months on a very limited trialing schedule, so we've been pretty successful I'd say.

Thanks meepitsmeagan for the siggy!

Loistava Kennels and Red Fox Dog Training
Boundless Pawsibilities

Loistava's Jari CGC - 20 months old (M)
Loistava's Kimma RN AX AXJ RATN CGC - 4 years old (F)
AOM CH Finkkila's Kupla ("Bubbles") - 4 years old (F)
CH Finkkila's Pentti CGC TDI - 7 years old (M)
Old 03-19-2014, 09:41 PM
Big Dog

Marvel was in class for a little less than a year. He wasn't our first agility dog and he was already competing in flyball so I'm not sure if that helped.

He went 3 for 3 for his NAJ and 4 for 3 for his NA.