Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dogs - General Dog Chat

Old 08-05-2012, 01:04 AM
Blackout

Default Homemade treats?

I'm a horrible cook - horrible, horrible, nasty cook. But from time to time I will whip something up in the food processor, steam something to the best of my ability or even just mix something up for Katalin.

Does anyone else try their hand at homemade treats/snacks? Share your recipes/methods here

Her food is Firstmate kibble - but she gets the occasional mix of this as a treat once in a while:

*One gala apple or several small cooking apples from our tree in season
*Marinated or plain chicken meat - about half as much as the quantity of apple
*Honey (if not available it's substituted for a small amount of brown sugar)
*A dash of cinnamon

It's just mixed up in the food processor then mashed up with a spoon with the latter two ingredients stirred in.

Sometimes she also gets...

White rice mixed with:

Cooked sardines
Steamed carrots, asparagus and broccoli
Dash of garlic
Strips of chicken meat.

Just all really well mashed together.

I have a recipe for some kind of carrot cookie - but our oven is outta whack and centuries old - so haven't been able to try that one out.
All except when we happen to meet.

Stories, Poetry, and Musings
http://inugami1112.wordpress.com/

"And it's all been lost before, so there's nothing to lose..."

"There are those that love dogs insanely and those that don't. But once you like a dog, you're sunk. You're a dog person for life."

UKC Kuvasz Standard
AKC Kuvasz Standard
Old 08-05-2012, 08:08 AM
Top Dog

I make real simple treats by mixing anyof the following with oatmeal, spreading the mixture out on a cookie sheet and baking.

canned pumpkin
banana
peanutbutter
applesauce
canned dog food