Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog and Pet Fun > Photography

Old 07-17-2012, 11:49 PM
Top Dog

Default What the heck is RAW?

I'm a photographer n00b. I have a lot to learn.

That said, I have a Canon Rebel T3i with two lenses. The stock 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, and a 75-300mm f/4-5.6.

I save my images in JPEG. I honestly wasn't aware that there were different file types until recently. I usually just edit a little using photoshop, then upload to Facebook. But recently, since I want to get a little more serious about it, I've been worrying about quality of photos and I remember someone telling me it is better to save in RAW format..

I have no clue what this means. I realize it's a different file type other than JPEG, but beyond that, I haven't a clue. Can I still open the photo in RAW? Upload it to Facebook? Also, what is a good site to use to save photos on besides Facebook, since Facebook is so low quality?

I want to start taking photos for local rescues and I really need to learn this stuff. Sometimes my photos seem a little blurryish, and I feel that is more from file type than it is from the actual photo. (Although if they are with my lens without IS, I realize it could be camera shake.)

Any advice on this is welcome. Thanks!
Old 07-17-2012, 11:52 PM
Top Dog

I totally thought this was going to be about dog food...
Old 07-18-2012, 12:22 AM
Roos, Poos, & a Wog!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saeleofu View Post
I totally thought this was going to be about dog food...
So did I! I was sitting here thinking if you don't know what raw food is, whether it be human or dog, there's something wrong with you.
Old 07-17-2012, 11:54 PM
Top Dog

Haha, I figured, but there's no better way to ask. *shrug*
Old 07-18-2012, 05:33 AM
Aussie Obssessed