Dog Site - Dog Stuff
Dog Forum | Dog Pictures

Go Back   Chazhound Dog Forum > Dog Discussions and Dog Talk Forums > Dogs - General Dog Chat

Old 02-16-2010, 11:31 AM
ACoops favorite

Default Beginners obedience, rally, or agility?

Harper is starting puppy preschool this Thursday, and we're also doing handling classes as well with a pro handler.

But once puppy preschool is over in seven weeks, I'm going to put her in a beginners class of either obedience, rally, or agility while continuing her handling classes.

Obedience is really what I'd like to do because it seems the most basic and I'm a real novice at dog sports. However, agility looks awesome and fun, and I think that it would really be up Harper's alley more so then obedience. Harper really needs both mental and physical stimulation.

Rally looks like it would be a good dog sport for an older dog that doesn't want to or can't do the jumps in agility and obedience, but maybe I have the wrong perception.

I've got plenty of time to pick, but I'm just curious about how you all started out in the wide world of dog competition.

ps- also thinking about trying out tracking w/ Harper. Anyone ever done that?
Old 02-16-2010, 11:48 AM
Just try me..

Do you want to be competitive in agility? If so start there or train it concurrently with obedience.
Old 02-16-2010, 12:50 PM
Clicker Cult Coordinator

IMO you should always do basic obedience first, then move on to agility. Mostly because I think it gives you a great foundation of not just a skill set for your dog, but the actual working relationship with your dog. Obviously you work differently with your dog on OB than agility but it's a great place to start.

Also, if you've trained in an obedience class, you'll be able to do rally no problem.

Auggie - The Flash RN NAJ MXP MJP CGC
Payton - Sharp Dressed Man NA NAJ CGC
Pepper - Chocolate Swizz-l-icious
& the pest, Georgie - Peach Pudding N Pie NA OAJ
The Sheltiechick Blog
Old 02-16-2010, 12:52 PM
Just try me..