View Full Version : Sasquatch?
Sweet72947
11-30-2007, 04:16 PM
Not to dredge up old stuff, but I came across the "Gentle Giants Rescue" website, and they have a breed listed on there called the Sasquatch. Is this an actual breed, or just another mutt?
http://www.gentlegiantsrescue.com/sasquatch_page_1.htm
:confused::confused:
MicksMom
11-30-2007, 04:30 PM
I've never heard of a Sasquatch. Looking at the pictures on their site, that dog looks like a Caucasion Mountain Dog/Great Pyr mix. I'll go out on a limb and say it's not a real breed.
Laurelin
11-30-2007, 04:34 PM
Sasquatch is Big Foot. lol
MicksMom
11-30-2007, 04:58 PM
Sasquatch is Big Foot. lol
I was thinking that, too. But, I've known German Shepherds named Shep, so didn't think too much of the big Foot name. :)
oc_spirit
11-30-2007, 06:22 PM
Looks like just a mutt with a "cute" name slapped on to make money AKA designer...sad
shadowfacedanes
11-30-2007, 07:20 PM
Burt Ward is an idiot and claims the dog is a rare breed. When asked what it is a mix of, he'll admit he doesn't know...I have the email somewhere and will dig it up if anyone wants it.
Anything having to do with Burt and Tracy Ward and GGR is a scam. Of course the poor animals are innocent....which is sadder than the fact that those two scumbags make a living off of the despair these animals have endured.
:mad::mad::mad::mad:
AgilityPup
11-30-2007, 07:34 PM
All I have to say about it is.... HOLY CRAP! THAT'S A BIG HARRY DOG! LOL, And I have a Great Dane! :p
Too bad... Very cute, but don't think it's a breed.
bubbatd
12-01-2007, 11:08 AM
^^^^^^^:yikes:
Agilitylabbie
12-01-2007, 11:37 AM
The Sasquatch? Funny, I don't remember seing that breed in this years Dogs In Canada Annual. Must be pretty darn rare then.:D Handsome boy though. He looks like a Great Pyr x to me.
Saintgirl
12-01-2007, 02:47 PM
It just makes me sad. GGR makes me want to get sick, and then to see their own version of a designer breed.............
Sapphire-Light
12-01-2007, 02:50 PM
Sasquatch is Big Foot. lol
LOL now I whant a chupacabras dog :D
Danegirl2208
12-01-2007, 04:19 PM
binn is still listed
Is that the binn whos owner used to post here???? She took him THERE? :(:(:(
I cannot stand these people..absolute low lifes :mad:
Xerxes
12-01-2007, 07:50 PM
Not to dredge up old stuff, but I came across the "Gentle Giants Rescue" website, and they have a breed listed on there called the Sasquatch. Is this an actual breed, or just another mutt?
http://www.gentlegiantsrescue.com/sasquatch_page_1.htm
:confused::confused:
Whatever mix it is, those same pics have been up for at least 2 years. It's a shame that Ward isn't using what's left of his celebrity to do the right thing.
puppylover2007
12-01-2007, 08:05 PM
so here is a real dum question.. since i am not familar with the breed, i dont think that an adoption fee of 490 to 990 is right???? WTH?? is that the right price??? to me that sounds like a fee for a pure breed. maybe i am wrong.
Xerxes
12-01-2007, 08:21 PM
so here is a real dum question.. since i am not familar with the breed, i dont think that an adoption fee of 490 to 990 is right???? WTH?? is that the right price??? to me that sounds like a fee for a pure breed. maybe i am wrong.
If you're familiar with GG at all, you'll know that no matter how much money you give them, you'll not get the dog. They'll re-direct you to another dog, or another dog or another dog. GG is a scam. Do a google search on GG and scams.
Momof2Pups
12-01-2007, 09:45 PM
Gentle Giants charges appalling amounts for the dogs and I would never ever trust that rescue, I don't consider them reputable in the least.
I looked for Binn a while back, but I couldn't find him. Poor guy. :( I guess I'm blind.
ETA: Nevermind, I found him. *sigh*
bubbatd
12-01-2007, 10:12 PM
This is a site for many kleenex .......I've never seen a happy ending from there . We hate them ---they hate us .
HarleyD
12-02-2007, 03:42 AM
I can't believe a so called rescue would charge up to a thousand bucks for a dog. And no, "Sasquatch" isn't a type of breed it's just some name the dumb@$$ came up with to make the dog seem 'unique' so he could charge an arm and a leg. Granted, a dog that big is unique in his own right, but shouldn't be priced like that...at any rescue...especially being a mix of unknown origins.
These people SUCK!
Danegirl2208
12-02-2007, 02:16 PM
so here is a real dum question.. since i am not familar with the breed, i dont think that an adoption fee of 490 to 990 is right???? WTH?? is that the right price??? to me that sounds like a fee for a pure breed. maybe i am wrong.
No it certainly is NOT right..In many cases they snatch these dogs out of sheltars and pounds and turn around and sell them for 900-2,000 bucks (sometimes more) claiming they are "Rare" or some "rare color"...it is ridulculous.
heres a site you might want to check out: http://www.gentlegiantnews.com/
Dizzy
12-02-2007, 05:16 PM
It actually looks like a breed of dog (that I forget the name of).
There was a member here that had them..... I can't remember their name though.
They had a whole pack, and puppies... Lovely looking dogs.
Dizzy
12-02-2007, 05:42 PM
This is irritating me now... they shared their photos on flickr... Can anyone else remember??
MicksMom
12-02-2007, 07:30 PM
Is that the binn whos owner used to post here???? She took him THERE? :(:(:(
I cannot stand these people..absolute low lifes :mad:
I'm still kind of new here, so don't know about that, but here's something I found when I googled Gentle Giants Rescue- Scams. The first entry might answer your question.
http://www.tribe.net/recommendation/Gentle-Giants-Rescue/79bced76-3333-4060-b2c6-c063141c1665
Cassiepeia
12-08-2007, 10:07 PM
Agh! I hate these people. That site just makes me cry. :( If only someone could rescue those dogs...they need it.
Cass.
bubbatd
12-08-2007, 10:59 PM
We still weep for Binn ....... and if the former owner weeps for him now too , I feel sorry for her . At least she admits her mistake . How we all tried to work with her for this poor dog's recovery !!!! Had she let us , Binn would have have his operation and either with her or in a good home . another dog lost . Such a sweetheart too !
shadowfacedanes
12-08-2007, 11:26 PM
Is this an actual breed, or just another mutt?
To be short and to the point, it's a mutt. Plain and simple. Just as they list "Airdanes" as a breed, it's just a bunch of BS. :rolleyes:
Despicable people, despicable practices.
MafiaPrincess
12-08-2007, 11:52 PM
People tried so hard to tell her what GG was. Glad she feels sorry now. But it's awfully late for that, as he's been stuck there for near a year.