How does this BREEDER look? Friend is buying [Archive] - Chazhound Dog Forum

PDA

View Full Version : How does this BREEDER look? Friend is buying


Red_ACD_for_me
02-06-2007, 09:26 PM
www.taylormadeyorkies.com
I have a friend of mine who has been doing her homework and taking her time finding a reputable yorkshire terrier breeder. I have been trying to help her so I thought I could get some input from others on what you think of her choice and the breeders contract etc.... :)

oc_spirit
02-06-2007, 09:38 PM
The thing that worries me about them is nowhere do they state their breeding goal so the impression i get is they are not breeding for show and they are not breeding for work, therefore, what are they breeding for? They talk about improving and staying within the standard but dont specify HOW. Honestly to me it looks like a BYB

ACooper
02-06-2007, 09:51 PM
I searched all over their site..............I didn't see any health test listing performed on mom or dad, I didn't see any pedigree listings.............I didn't see anything but an xray of the puppies before birth. I looked at their "puppy" contract which says 1 year against hereditary defects, which is basically nothing considering the most common hereditary defects won't show until after age 2 or so in most dogs. (not too familiar with Yorkies)

I am no "little dog" person, but some things are just expected from a breeder I think no matter the breed.

I have to go with OC on this one.

planet molosser
02-06-2007, 10:00 PM
Cant find any reason why they are breeding other than to produce pets.

And I agree health defects can take a few years to come up..

Sad but I would stir her towards Yorkie rescue this is the time of year many left over xmas pups and or impulse buys need homes.

ACooper
02-06-2007, 10:07 PM
There are a couple of scary things about their contract that should bother your friend.....................

If the puppy is sick and dies, or returned for hereditary defects, your friend must pay for an autopsy and/or written proof from her vet, and pay for shipment of said puppy back to them, (that isn't the scary part) Not only that............NO REFUNDS, your friend will have to take another puppy from them when it is available.....(if she wants compensation)..............the same people that sold a sick puppy in the first place :yikes:

FoxyWench
02-06-2007, 10:12 PM
cons: they have no brag page, no show info, no working cerdentials, nothing that says WHY their yorkies are "worthy" of breeding. While i dont think showing is THE most important thing, i also thing that in order to know your truly breeding the best of the best, one needs at least 2 pairs of IMPARTIAL eyes. many times we as ahndlers and breeders do not see those faults in our own dogs.
they claim, both purina one and eukanuba are high quality foods. this is a real turn off, i personally feel breeders have a responsibility to their dogs to provied them with the best nutrition possible, nutrition should be something studied BEFORE breeding.
they dont display ANY info on heath testing, pedigrees or otherwise IMPORTANT information.
and there are some SCARY things in their contract.

there definatly not the best yorkie breeders out there...
unfortunatly i think this site is more reliant on bells and whistles, fancy page with lots of pretties rather than a good breeder using the site as an informational source.

http://www.ytca.org/breeder3.html
these guys are the yorki club of america, thats the direct link to their breeder referal,
breeders refered to by a breed club generaly stick to a higher code of breeding ethics, than those who are not members of the breed club. your more likely to find a great Yorkie breeder through the breed club than through random web searches and breed club referal is better than akc referal!
they have none currently in Maine but there are a few very nice breeders in CT, and MA.

hope this helps, good luck.

bubbatd
02-06-2007, 10:34 PM
Anyone can have an attractive web site . As before , I'll state that I know of no good line breeder who advertises pups for sale . Sure , you can get the pup of your dreams through the internet , newspapers , magazines and yard fliers . Go through your breed clubs !

shea4
02-07-2007, 02:05 PM
I agree tell her to call a breed club and ask about breeder reff.

~Jessie~
02-07-2007, 04:56 PM
I would not buy a dog from a breeder like this, personally. The webpage has a lot of fluff and lists no brags, pedigrees, nor health test information.

I would tell her to go through the AKC's breed club. I found my Rylie through the CCA :)

Groch
02-07-2007, 05:23 PM
Just a question relative to an earlier post. "They do not breed for show or for work". What kind of work do Yorkies do?

I would think that 97% of them work as family pets.

Laurelin
02-07-2007, 05:34 PM
Some of the things I notice are that none of her dogs have titles of any sort- that's a must for me. If I'm buying a dog from a breeder I want to know it's coming from proven lines and is a good representative of the breed. If not, why pay for a purebred? You just have to take her word that the dogs are to standard. I know your friend is probably not looking for a show prospect, but especially in a toy breed Champ titles are one of the few ways to tell quality of a breeder. There's no 'working type Yorkie'. It proves to me at least some breed-worthiness. I also like to see CGC and agility or rally titles. There's none here. One thing that really bothers me is there are no pedigrees whatsoever, and I can't find a page showing her sires and dams, just the parents who have litters coming. No health testing info- another major turn off... The contract is a bit troublesome as already pointed out.

Our "Taylor Made" puppies have great bloodlines, are AKC registered and are bred to be within the Yorkshire Terrier 'standard'.

If the dogs have such great bloodlines, then why not show them on the website? And if the dogs are to standard, then why not show them in conformation?

Also they have three litters coming just through April. One here in February, one in march, and one in April. That's a red flag to me. Oh, and they also had a litter in January- that's four litters in four months.

stevinski
02-07-2007, 06:05 PM
Just a question relative to an earlier post. "They do not breed for show or for work". What kind of work do Yorkies do?

I would think that 97% of them work as family pets.

obediance, agility, therapy work, tracking, earthdog, etc

Red_ACD_for_me
02-07-2007, 08:37 PM
Thanks guys :hail: ! I didn't find her site very impressive either... I told her to go through a breed club and to find a breeder who is involved in showing in conformation, titles her dogs, and does all the necessary health testing for the breed. But I don't think she will listen...:rolleyes: Shes not a close friend of mine but more of an acquaintance. I have done what I could but in turn people do what they want. I also told her to try petfinder for a yorkie or yorkie cross but will see what she decides. Thanks again :)

FoxyWench
02-08-2007, 01:19 PM
while MOST yorkies these days are kept as housepets, there are a small number of breedes out there still breeding the yorkie to working yorkie standards, yorkies like the manchester terrier and JRT (or parsons russel) were bred as ratters, there are still lots of yorkies in the uk at least doing earth dog trials, ratting and going to ground. As much as there a toy breed, they are still terriers, this is also the main reason i do NOT suggest the yorkie to the average toy breed owner, there high energy with full terrier tenacity.
there also NOT to be trusted for the most part around small animals like rats and mice.

as for the op, im glad shes looking into this before buying! :D good luck to your friend in finding the perfect yorkie for her life!

showpug
02-08-2007, 01:56 PM
This breeder may love the breed, but their main goal is to be a puppy producer and that is not a reason to breed.

I vote for BYB. :(

I think it was said before, but your friend should start her search through the Yorkshire Terrier Club of America.

http://www.ytca.org/breeder1.html

Rosefern
03-01-2007, 12:22 PM
Here's a checklist, created by a Bernese Mountain Dog site. This info is not specific to Berners, but can be applied to all breeders. Some questions are not suited to Yorkies, but you can either forget that requirement, or change the wording to suit your breed.

http://www.jersey.net/~mountaindog/berner1/checklist.htm

Good luck!

-Rosefern